DUI License Suspension in Colorado

If you are arrested for DUI in Colorado Springs, your driver’s license is automatically subject to DUI License suspension in Colorado.

Arrested for DUI in Colorado Springs?

If you are arrested for DUI in Colorado Springs, your Colorado driver’s license is automatically subject to DUI License suspension.

When you apply for a license in the state of Colorado you agree that you will submit to a breath test or blood test if you are pulled over for DUI. If the test reveals that your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08% or higher, it is likely that your license will be suspended. If you refuse this test your license will automatically be suspended, whether you were under the influence or not.

If you have been stopped for DUI and your license is suspended or is at risk of being suspended, you need a Colorado Springs DUI attorney who can provide you top-notch assistance at a DMV hearing. With the right help, you may be able to avoid a license suspension.

While it may be difficult for you to fight a driver’s license suspension, there are ways that our legal team can help avoid suspension.

When a breath or blood test is administered, there are many legal protocols and procedures that must be followed. A skilled DUI attorney will be able to look at all the evidence that was taken to see if anything was amiss; if it was you may be able to retain your license.

Our legal team may also be able to secure you a hardship license which will allow you to get to medical appointments or work.

The length of time you can expect your license to be suspended will depend on certain factors including the number of times you have been charged with alcohol-related traffic offenses and whether or not any injuries resulted from your DUI.

In general you can expect the following:

  • First DUI offense: license revoked for 9 months

  • Second DUI offense: license revoked for one year

  • Third or more DUI offense: license revoked for two years

If your license is suspended because you refused to submit to alcohol testing or if you are a minor, your Colorado license suspension may be anywhere from 3 months to 3 years, depending on your BAC and whether or not it is your first offense.

In order to effectively fight a license suspension it is important to contact DUI attorney James Newby as soon as possible. This way a hearing can be requested and your lawyer will have enough time to look into the evidence surrounding your case.

James NewbyContact my office today for a free, no obligation case evaluation at (719) 578-3322 or email us HERE.

James Newby Law
102 S. Tejon Street, Suite 1100
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
P: (719) 578-3322
 

Free Case Evaluation

Fill out the form below to receive a free consultation on your case.

Please type your full name.
Invalid phone format. Please use xx-xxx-xxxx
Invalid email address.
Invalid Input
Invalid Input