Accused And/Or Charged With Harassment
If you are being accused of or charged with criminal harassment in Colorado, the accuser is claiming you intended to harass, annoy or alarm them. The critical component and one that can be challenging to prove is what your intent at the time of the alleged behavior.
The state of Colorado categorizes criminal harassment as a class three misdemeanor (in most cases). It comes with a maximum penalty of six months in jail and a $750 fine. Harassment cases involve a lot of he said she said and vagaries.
Having a qualified defense attorney like James Newby will help clarify the facts of the case and represent your side of the story in a non-emotional way. The ramifications of a harassment conviction go way beyond a fine and possible jail time. The shadow follows you around long after your penalties have been served.
Harassment in Colorado usually entails:
Striking, shoving, kicking or touching another person. This is the most common harassment offense in the state. You are prohibited from any touching of another done with the intent to harass, annoy, or alarm. If the harassment leads to injury, the charge could be upgraded to assault. Directing obscene language or gestures to another person in a public place when done with intent to harm can be considered harassment.
Phone or electronic harassment. Obscene, annoying, constant, threatening communication via phone or any electronic device is considered harassment if there is intent to harm. Or, if there is no legitimate conversation, the calls are outside normal hours, and they invade their privacy.
Following a person in a public place can also be harassment. If the behavior escalates it can become stalking. In Colorado, stalking is a very serious offense. If you are facing stalking charges you are looking at significant prison time and large fines. In Colorado, stalking entails repeated attempts to follow, approach or contact a person or their family or others they have a relationship in a manner that causes a reasonable person to feel emotional stress.
Stalking Conviction Is Serious
A stalking conviction in Colorado comes with a potential one to three years in prison and fines from $1,000 – $100,000 for the first offense. That jumps to a class four felony with two to six years in prison and fines from $2,000 to $500,000 for a subsequent offense or if the offense is committed in violation of a protection order.
The seriousness of a stalking charge requires a serious defense attorney like James Newby who can help mount a strong defense against very significant allegations that can have a life-long impact.
By James Newby
James Newby Law
102 S. Tejon Street,
Suite 1100 Colorado Springs,
CO 80903 (719) 578-3322