What penalties I am facing?
On a first offense DUI in El Paso County or Teller County, the possible penalties include from five days up to one year in jail. On a person’s first DUI that five days in jail can be suspended if one does an alcohol evaluation and treatment as ordered by the court. There is an exception however, to this rule. If the person’s BAC is more than .200 then the court must impose a mandatory minimum of 10 days in jail, which cannot be suspended. A first offense DUI also includes a fine of $600 – $1,000 dollars. One must also complete between 48-96 hours of community service. All of these punishments will be monitored while the person convicted of DUI is on probation.
Needless to say the penalties for even a first offense DUI in Colorado Springs are severe. Whenever you find yourself charged with a DUI, you should contact a Colorado Springs DUI attorney as soon as possible.
What are the penalties for a second offense DUI in Colorado Springs and Teller County?
On a second offense DUI conviction in Colorado Springs, the court must impose a mandatory minimum of 10 days jail, up to one year in jail. The court will also impose an additional year of jail, but suspend it on condition that the person completes the conditions of probation. The minimum fine is $600 up to $1500 dollars and community service between 48-120 hours. Additionally, the court must order at least two years of probation with alcohol treatment and one year of suspended jail. Further, the court may impose alcohol or drug monitoring, ignition interlock, and additional conditions the court feels are appropriate to use, of course if allowed by law. Additionally, a second offense may prohibit the person from leaving the state without the permission from probation.
Are there other possible consequences from a DUI conviction besides the court consequences?
There are also potential consequences with the DMV when a person is charged with DUI. Whenever law enforcement can show a DMV hearing officer that a person was operating a motor vehicle in the state of Colorado and within two hours of driving was over the legal limit of .08, then that person’s privilege to drive in Colorado is in jeopardy. The consequences with the DMV will depend on the BAC at the time of driving or within two hours of driving and how many prior offenses the person has been convicted of in Colorado. It goes without saying that the DMV’s system is extremely complicated. A Colorado Springs DUI attorney can help you understand the possible DMV consequences to your privilege to drive.
Why would I hire James Newby?
With many years of experience, I am a Colorado Springs DUI attorney who knows the system. I have handled hundreds of DUI’s during my time as both a prosecutor and a defense attorney. My first assignment in Colorado was to prosecute in Teller County. Many of those cases were DUI’s. I gained valuable experience handling complex and often contentious DUI cases. After working in Teller County, I was transferred to Colorado Springs, where I worked for another eighteen months, prosecuting misdemeanors and DUI’s. Before you handle your case on your own, please contact a Colorado Springs DUI attorney so you know that your case is being handled properly.
Contact us today for a free, no obligation case evaluation at (719) 578-3322 or contact us HERE and let’s get started!.
By James Newby
James Newby Law
102 S. Tejon Street, Suite 1100
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Topic: Colorado Springs DUI attorney
See my profile on Google+